2015: INEC Releases List Of 10 Presidential Candidates And Their VP’s.


The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) on Saturday released the list of the presidential candidates to run in the 2015 elections.

They are:

President Goodluck Jonathan of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP)

General Muhammadu Buhari of the All Progressives Congress (APC)

Prof. Comfort Oluremi Sonaiya of Kowa Party

Ambrose Albert of Hope Democratic Party

Ganiyu Galadima of Allied Congress Party of Nigeria

Rafiu Salau of Alliance for Democracy

Godson Okoye of United Democratic Party

Dr. Nani Ibrahim Ahmad of African Democratic Congress

Martin Onovo of National Conscience Party

Tunde Anifowoshe-Kelani of Action Alliance

Chekwas Okorie of United Progressive Party.

Their corresponding running mates are:
The Incumbent Vice-President, Namadi Sambo (PDP),

Prof. Yemi Osinbajo (APC),

Saidu Bobboi (Kowa Party)

Haruna Shaba (Hope Democratic Party),

Balarabe Ahmed (ACPN),

Prof. Clinton Cliff Akuchie (AD),

Haruna Adamu (United Democratic Party),

Obianuju Murphy-Uzohue (African Democratic Congress)

Ibrahim Mohammed(NCP),

Comrade Paul Ishaka Ofomile (Action Alliance),

and Bello Umar( United Progressive Party).

INEC’s deadline for the submission of names was December 25 and the commision provided this list in line with the provisions of the Electoral Act; saying the grounds for qualification are as specified in Sections 65′ 106, 131 and 177 of the 1999 Constitution.

The Chief Press Secretary to INEC Chairman, Mr. Kayode Robert Idowu, said: “We have complied with the law; we have published the list of all the presidential candidates in all the states of the Federation. For other elective offices, the lists will be published in their constituencies and senatorial districts as applicable.”

The electoral agency said Nigerians are free to screen the particulars and raise issues if they think any candidate should be disqualified.

INEC said: “The personal particulars are displayed in all the state and local government offices of the commission in the constituencies of the candidates.

“Any person who has reasonable grounds to believe that any information given by any candidate is false or that the candidate is not qualified or is disqualified from contesting the elections should notify the commission in writing within seven days of this publication.”

Eleven conditions under which any of the presidential candidates or other candidates can be disqualified are:

”While a person is disqualified if he or she

(i) has declared allegiance to another country;

(ii) has been elected to the office of President or Governor at any two previous elections;

(iii) adjudged to be a lunatic or declared to be of unsound mind;

(iv) is under a sentence of death or is under a sentence of imprisonment or fine for an offence involving dishonesty or fraud

(v) has in the last 10 years been convicted and sentenced for an offence involving dishonesty

(vi) has been found guilty of a contravention of the code of conduct;

(vii) is an undischarged bankrupt;

(viii) is employed in the public service and does not resign, withdraw or retire at least 30 days to the election;

(ix) is a member of a secret society;

(x) has been indicted for embezzlement or fraud by a Judicial Committee of Inquiry or an Administrative Panel of Inquiry or a Tribunal and which indictment has been accepted by the Federal or State Government;

(xi) has presented a forged certificate to INEC


p class=”post-sig”>BeiNspired


One response »

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s